Arsenal Reveal Europa League Squad

Arsenal Banter brings you latest update on Arsenal news from top media sites like Daily Mail, Metro, The Express, The Independent, The Telegraph, SkySports and so on.

As you will of course know Arsenal are playing in Group H against…..

  • BATE Borisov
  • Crvena zvezda
  • Köln

The squad for the competition has now been announced.  Here are the rules…

Only a maximum of 25 players is allowed on their primary list, Known as List A. Eight spot are reserved for home-grown players. A maximum of 17 players can be included who do not meet the criteria of a home-grown player.

The 25-man List A must include two goalkeepers. Teams can also add players to list B, a separate squad list set apart for youth players.

Home-grown players

The definitions of home-grown players are divided into two categories: club trained and association trained.

Four spot are reserved for the club-trained players. If a club cannot find four players who meet the club-trained criteria, they spot would remain vacant.

The definition of club trained is a player who has been registered with their current club since the ages of 15 and 21 for three entire seasons. The nationality of the player makes no difference.  Bellerin, Ramsey, Coquelin, Wilshere, Walcott… take your pick.

The definition of an association-trained player is one who between the ages of 15 and 21 was registered with any club, or a combination of clubs, for three entire seasons in the same association as the club attempting to name him on their UEFA squad list.  Welbeck, Macey, Holding, Chambers, plus anyone not included in the previous list.

In what follows you will notice that Arsenal have 25 A list players.  Tottenham, to take one example only had 21 players in their list.  The reasons are explained below.

List A

There are 17 squad places reserved for non-local players. These can be occupied by any player, regardless of nationality or where they were trained.

List B

List B is reserved for youth players. An unlimited number of players can be named or removed from the list at any point in the season. The list simply has to be submitted by 11pm UK time on the day before a game.

In the 2017/18 season, List B is for any player whose date of birth falls on, or after, January 1, 1996, who has been eligible to play for his club for “an uninterrupted period of two years since his 15th birthday”.    Players aged 16 may be registered on List B if they have been registered with the participating club for the previous two years without break.

B list players are shown with an asterisk.  Totals are for A lists players plus B list players.

Goalkeepers: (4+2)

  • David OSPINA
  • Petr ČECH
  • Ryan HUDDART *
  • Deyan ILIEV
  • Hugo KETO *
  • Matt MACEY

Defenders (9+3)

  • Laurent KOSCIELNY
  • Nacho MONREAL
  • Shkodran MUSTAFI
  • Calum CHAMBERS
  • Héctor BELLERÍN
  • Tolaji BOLA *
  • Chiori JOHNSON *
  • Tafari MOORE *

Midfield (6+8)

  • Aaron RAMSEY
  • Mesut ÖZIL
  • Alex IWOBI *
  • Granit XHAKA
  • Ainsley MAITLAND-NILES *
  • Francis COQUELIN
  • Mohamed ELNENY
  • Krystian BIELIK *
  • Charlie GILMOUR *
  • Marcus MCGUANE *
  • Reiss NELSON *
  • Ben SHEAF *

Forwards (6+4)

  • Alexandre LACAZETTE
  • Olivier GIROUD
  • Theo WALCOTT
  • Danny WELBECK
  • Chuba AKPOM
  • Pelenda DA SILVA *
  • Aaron EYOMA *
  • Edward NKETIAH *
  • Joseph WILLOCK *